Due to the COVID-19 pandemic the decision has been made to put off the 2019 Lane Anderson Award until next year.

As this pandemic will undoubtedly affect publications in 2020, the award will be combined with the 2020 Lane Anderson Award.

This decision was made in order to reduce pressures on authors, publishers, and delivery people, and to help everyone to maintain proper social distancing protocols. The deadline for the 2019 Lane Anderson submissions will be announced in January 2021. More information will be available at that time. Stay safe.

Entry Information

If you are a Canadian author and/or Canadian-owned publisher interested in submitting for the 2019 Lane Anderson Award, please review our guidelines.

  1. Eligibility
  2. The Application Package
  3. The Judging Panel
  4. Selection Process


  • The author must be Canadian
  • Books must have been published in English between January 1, 2019, and December 31, 2019
  • All entries — including electronic books — must have an ISBN and be available for sale in bookstores in Canada
  • Eligible works include:
    • A collection of essays by one author if the essays are on a single theme, and if the work in its entirety has not been published elsewhere
    • A work by two co-authors provided the whole work is integrated and coherent. In the case of winning co-authors, the prize money will be divided between them
    • Electronic books if the author is Canadian, resided in Canada during the 2019 calendar year, the book has an ISBN, and the entry was made generally available for public sale on a commercial basis during 2019
  • Non-eligible works include:
    • A collection of essays by more than one author
    • Pamphlets, monographs, brochures, reference books, conference papers, and subsequent or revised editions of books
    • Posthumously published works
    • Fictional works

Please note the rules for eligibility will be administered, applied, interpreted, and may be revised from time to time at the discretion of the administrator of the Lane Anderson Award. The administrator’s judgment on the application of the rules and the eligibility criteria is final.

The Application Package

The publisher, author, or agent may submit books for the Lane Anderson Award. All submissions must include the 2019 submission form as well as the submission fee.

Your application package must include:

  • A completed submission form (download here)
  • Seven (7) copies of each book
  • A biographical sketch, photograph of the author, book cover image delivered in a digital format on CD-ROM or USB key. The images should be no less than 300 dpi
  • A publication or release date of the book as well as a general overview of the book’s contents
  • The submission fee — $30 for the first book and $25 per book for any additional submissions by the same author or publisher. Cheques should be made payable to Fitzhenry Family Foundation

The due date for all materials is April 28, 2020. The earliest possible submission of books is recommended. The award manager will acknowledge receipt of each candidate’s title. The award administrator will announce the shortlist in August, and the award will be presented at a ceremony in Toronto in September. All shortlisted nominees are asked to attend the ceremony.

The Judging Panel

A separate panel of three judges adjudicates each of the adult and young reader awards. Judges are selected based on their expertise in fields of science, science writing, and literature. Award winners are invited to become a member of the three-judge panel of the applicable award in the year after they win the award.

Selection Process

Each award will be determined on the relevance of its content to the importance of science in today’s world, and the author’s ability to connect the topic to the interests of the general trade reader.

The judges review all submissions and recommend their views on the shortlist directly to the award administrator, without advising the other judges of their decision. Each judge acts independently in order to ensure fairness. The award administrator reviews the submissions and advises the judges on the consensus shortlist.

Judges advise the award administrator of their ranking of the shortlisted books and the award administrator advises the judges of the winner. Consensus and commentary is invited during the process.

During the time period from the distribution of award nominees to the determination of the award winners, judges have no contact with the Fitzhenry Family Foundation regarding the award. Only the award administrator communicates with the foundation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *