Finalists for 2015 Lane Anderson Awards Announced

We’re excited to announce the finalists for the best Canadian science books written in 2015!

Adult Category

Once They Were Hats

Frances Backhouse
Once They Were Hats: In Search of the Mighty Beaver
Publisher: ECW Press


Malignant Metaphor

Alanna Mitchell
Malignant Metaphor: Confronting Cancer Myths
Publisher: ECW Press


Slick Water

Andrew Nikiforuk
Slick Water: Fracking and One Insider’s Stand Against the World’s Most Powerful Industry
Publisher: Greystone Books

Dam BuildersMichael Runtz
Dam Builders: The Natural History of Beavers and their Ponds
Publisher: Fitzhenry & Whiteside


Young Reader


Paula Ayer
Foodprints: The Story of What We Eat
Publisher: Annick Press


Head Lice

Elise Gravel
Head Lice: The Disgusting Critters Series
Publisher: Tundra Books


What's the Buzz

Merrie-Ellen Wilcox
What’s the Buzz?: Keeping Bees in Flight
Publisher: Orca Book Publishers


The Queen's Shadow

Cybèle Young
The Queen’s Shadow: A Story About How Animals See
Publisher: Kids Can Press


Winners will be announced at a dinner in Toronto in late September.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *